Visa on arrival in Thailand

Thai EmbassyThe visa on arrival in Thailand has changed over the years. Firstly when crossing a land border you used to get 30 days stay in Thailand if you country was listed on the 30 day waiver list. Secondly today you only get 15 days when you cross over the border. Finally normally you need to show at least 10,000 Baht on arrival per person or 20,000 baht per family when you arrive.

Visa on arrival in Thailand

The following countries obtain 30 days when they arrive via an airport in Thailand else it is 15 days as stated. If you are from India you only get 15 days on arrival at the airport. It is best if you apply for a Thai visa be it a tourist visa or marriage visa at the Thai embassy in New Delhi before you arrive in Thailand.

Update: As from 1st November 2013 the following nationals now get 30 days visa on arrival while crossing a land border in Thailand. Everyone else still gets 15 days visa on arrival. The countries are as follows:

  • 1. USA
  • 2. UK
  • 3. France
  • 4. Canada
  • 5. Italy
  • 6. Japan
  • 7. Germany

Update : September 2014 : New Visa Rules

Here are the countries that do receive 30 days on arrival at the airport:

1. Australia : Commonwealth of Australia
2. Austria : Republic of Austria
3. Belgium : Kingdom of Belgium
4. Brazil : Federative Republic of Brazil
5. Bahrain : State of Bahrain
6. Brunei Darussalam : Negara Brunei Darussalam
7. Canada
8. Denmark : Kingdom of Denmark
9. Finland : Republic of Finland
10. France : French Republic
11. Germany : Federal Republic of Germany
12. Greece : Hellenic Republic
13. Hong Kong : Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
14. Iceland : Republic of Iceland
15. Indonesia : Republic of Indonesia
16. Ireland : Republic of Ireland
17. Israel : State of Israel
18. Italy : Republic of Italy
19. Japan
20. Korea : Republic of Korea
21. Kuwait : State of Kuwait
22. Luxembourg : Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
23. Malaysia
24. Monaco : Principality of Monaco
25. Netherlands : Kingdom of the Netherlands
26. New Zealand
27. Norway : Kingdom of Norway
28. Oman : Sultanate of Oman
29. Peru : Republic of Peru
30. Philippines : Republic of the Philippines
31. Portugal : Republic of Portugal
32. Qatar : State of Qatar
33. Singapore : Republic of Singapore
34. Spain : Kingdom of Spain
35. South Africa : Republic of South Africa
36. Sweden : Kingdom of Sweden
37. Switzerland : Swiss Confederation
38. Turkey : Republic of Turkey
39. United Arab Emirates
40. United Kingdom : United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
41. United States of America
42. Vietnam : Socialist Republic of Vietnam


Incoming search terms:

About Tracey Brown

I develop websites and content for websites related to embassies from around the world. See more pages and content about Thai embassies from around the world. From Canada to Nepal all Thai embassies have been listed here. See the other websites listed on the sidebar for US, Canadian and British embassies. If there are address changes or Embassy contact details changes then please email me on my profile on Google+
error: Content is protected !!